Weekly update: A busy week of hills, trails, runs in the park and... parkun!

With Club Championship points at stake, Linlithgow had a strong turnout at the Dechmont 10k on Sunday with 9 runners taking to the muddy trails. Mairi Watts was first home for the Linlithgow women (2nd overall) in 44:44, followed by Jennifer Newton in 53:35 and Mandy Cazes in 57:13. First home for the men was Martin Maginnis in 43:28 followed by Paul Emery in 46:38, Colin Hutcheon in 47:14, Neil Barnes in 48:04, Roddy Simpson in 56:20 and Mark Collier in 01:06:21.

Elsewhere on Sunday, Frances and Alex Wood ran the hilly Arran Half Marathon. Frances finished 1st FV60 in 01:49:38 (taking home not only a trophy but some tasty Arran cheese too) and Alex finishing in 02:13:46.  David Dalmau, Trevor Galloway and Kenny Gray all completed the Lairig Ghru hill race, a gruelling race from Braemar to Aviemore (official results to follow).

Earlier in the week, Ian Fyfe completed the Balbirnie Duathlon (consisting of 5k run, 20k bike, 2.5k run) in 01:31:00.  As a warm-up for their efforts in Arran, running the Sri Chinmoy Self Transcendence mile at the Meadows, Frances finishing 1st FV60 in 06:50 and Alex in 07:53. Malcolm Hughes was in London for the Last Friday of the Month 5k race in Hyde Park, organised by Serpentine Running Club. Improving on last month's effort, finishing in 22:39 - 158th out of 251 runners. 

Roddy Simpson, Neil Anderson and Club President, Angus Gallie, were at Falkirk parkrun on Saturday with their latest Let’s Go Linlithgow couch-to-5K group. All of the group who made it along completed the course, a great achievement for all involved and a briliant example of the Club supporting the local community through a shared passion for running. 

At parkrun, the Club had 8 runners at 6 different runs.

Malcolm Hughes was the fastest Linlithgow finisher this week finishing Coldham’s Common in 22:36. The biggest Club turnout was at Falkirk, where Jennifer Newton finished in 23:53, Roddy Simpson in 32:47, Neil Anderson in 33:36. Elsewhere, Ian Fyfe finished Perth in 23:53, Graeme Wilkinson was in South Wales, finishing Barry Island in 26:56, David Main-Reade was in Germany, finishing Nidda, Frankfurt, in 23:43 and Lorna Simpson ran Felixstowe, Suffolk in 23:04.