Weekly update: A week of ups, downs and a podium finish for Linlithgow AC

On Wednesday evening, the Club had 9 runners at a cold and windy Dumyat Hill Race, near Stirling. A popular fixture on the hill running calendar – provides a fun, challenging event set around the University of Stirling campus.

First home for the men was hill specialist, Paul Dudchenko in 46:03, then Trevor Galloway in 48:10, followed closely by David Mason in 48:19, Scott Hyslop in 48:40, Colin Sumpter in 49:05, Mike Watts in 49:06 and Angus Gallie in 51:28. For the women, Jill Horsburgh was first off the hill in 57:31 followed by Charlotte Moran in 59:06.

On Saturday, Michael O’Hara ran the picturesque Ben Lomond Hill Race. An eventful race for the wrong reasons saw Michael spectacularly wipe out on the descent resulting a trip to A&E to patch him up but still managed to finish in 01:32 placing 39th. Like every good hill race, the post race soup more than made up for the rough and tumble.

In Arisaig, Martin Maginnis earned a podium finish at the Road to the Isles Marathon. A spectacular and hilly out and back route (twice) along the old road to the isles from Arisaig via Traigh beach to Morar bay. Martin finished in 03:29:06, a new PB for the distance and 3rd placed male.

At parkrun, the Club had 14 runners at 6 different runs.

The biggest turnout was at Livingston where Lorna Simpson was first home for Linlithgow finishing in 22:26, followed by David Reade in 22:28 (PB), Ian Fyfe in 22:32, Malcolm Hughes in 24:25 and Graham Chambers in 31:35. Fastest Linlithgow finisher was at Strathclyde where William Millar finished in 18:37, followed by Isobel Lockhart in 28:46. Elsewhere, Mandy Cazes finished Edinburgh in 22:24. At Falkirk, Kenny Gray finished in 20:58, Roddy Simpson in 24:08 and Hannah Danson in 29:46. At Perth, Frances Wood finished in 23:07 and Alex Wood in 26:22.

Special mention to the Club volunteers who ran and marshalled at the trial parkrun event at Polkemmet Country Park – Iain Fyfe and Lorna Simpson ran the course in 23:18 and 23:21 respectively (8th & 10th) and David Main-Reade and Graham Chambers marshalled. The inaugural event is set for the 25th May usual parkrun time.