Weekly Update: Record turnout at Scottish National Cross Country for Linlithgow AC

On Saturday Linlithgow AC had a record turnout for the Club at the Scottish National Cross Country Championships. 22 Linlithgow AC members took on the tricky course in Callender Park, Falkirk. Central AC celebrated an historic win, as they once again picked up the Elkington Shield as overall winner, for an unprecedented ninth year in a row.

First up for the Club was James Hammond in the U13 boys race, finishing in 0:13:11, followed by Sean Smith who finished in 0:17:50. In the U15 boys race, Ruaridh Duncan finished in 0:19:50.

Later in the day, in the Senior Women’s race Mairi Watts was first home for the Club in 0:47:12, followed by Lorna Simpson in 0:55:21, Frances Wood in 0:56:51, Mandy Cazes in 0:57:43, Rosemary Gallagher in 0:58:42, Rebecca Evans in 0:58:59 and Alison Marshall 1:00:29. The women’s team finished 20th (of 24) overall.

John Redding was the first home for the Club in the Senior Men’s race, finishing in 0:39:59, then Paul Dudchenko in 0:47:12 closely followed by Martin Maginnis in 0:47:14, Michael Watts in 0:47:57, David McNish in 0:48:12, Neil Barnes 0:48:43, again, closely followed by Scott Hyslop in 0:48:48 , Angus Gallie in 0:48:50, then Gerry McArdle in 0:49:30, Paul Emery in 0:50:25, Neil Anderson 0:51:16 and Darren Dick in 0:51:19. The men’s team finished 34th (of 42) overall.

Lots more photos from the event on Linlithgow Runners page on Facebook. Photo credit to Roddy Simpson, Paul Dudchenko and David Marshall.

Also on Saturday, Ian Fyfe ran the tough but picturesque Glentress Forest 10k trail race in the Scottish Borders, finishing in 53:05.

On Sunday, Bryan Grome ran the Feterresseto forest trail marathon, near Stonehaven. With a cut off time of 2hrs 20 for first half meant for fast start. The route was challenging with some decent evelation. Bryan finished in 4:46:08, in plenty time for the post race spread including soup to rival those served at the Devil’s Burden race.

At parkrun Linlithgow had 8 runners across 4 runs.

The fastest Linlithgow runner this week was Kenny Gray finishing Falkirk in 19:57. Also at Falkirk, Ian Boxall finished in 21:52, Malcolm Hughes in 22:17, Neil Anderson in 22:42 and Roddy Simpson in 23:59. Elsewhere, Alex Wood ran Livingston, finishing in 27:18 (1st VM65). At Blackhill, Graeme Wilkinson finished in 25:34. David Main-Reade continued his parkrun tourism downunder at Quinns Rocks, Perth in 23:55.