Weekly update: JogScotland, Annual dinner and Prize-giving, AGM update and Parkrun


Linlithgow Athletic Club decided this year, as part of its engagement with the local community, to support new runners through training Jogleaders and establishing JogScotland groups. The groups, bannered as LetsGoLinlithgow, have aimed to support the move from couch to 5k. The first of these, led by Lorna Simpson, ran in the spring, and the second, co-led by Roddy Simpson and Alex Wood and supported by Angus Gallie and Neil Anderson, reached its finale on Saturday. Seventeen runners made the journey to a healthier lifestyle, with weekly sessions at the Peel. Ten of these new running enthusiasts took part in Saturday’s Falkirk Parkrun. Well done to all these runners, now all committed to, and enjoying, a healthier life-style.

Parkrun - Livingston, Linwood, Pollock, Strathclyde Park, Vogrie and Falkirk

Linlithgow AC had runners at six Parkruns across Scotland on Saturday. Michael Sroka ran Strathclyde Park in 19:02 (2nd VM40 and a new PB). William Millar finished Livingston in 20:58 (1st VM35). Ian Fyfe completed Pollok in Glasgow in 22:13 (1st VM60). David Main-Reade finished Linwood in 22:36 (3rd VM50). Scott Cumming ran Vogrie in 26:01. We had thirteen runners at Falkirk, with our team led home by Paul Dudchenko in 20:59 (2nd VM50), followed by Malcolm Hughes in 22:56, Lorna Simpson in 22:57 (2nd VW45), Ian Lockhart in 24:01, Frances Wood in 24:31 (1st VW60), Mandy Cazes in 25:25 (3rd SW30), Jill Horsburgh in 26:15 (1st VW55), Kenny Gray in 27:39, Isobel Lockhart in 29:32 plus Angus Gallie, Roddy Simpson, Alex Wood and Neil Anderson, supporting the Jogscotland runners.

Annual dinner and Prize-giving

Saturday evening was the Club’s annual dinner and prize-giving in the Four Marys. A great night and a chance to celebrate the hard work and achievements of club members in the past year.

John Redding and Lynsey Hay were crowned Club Champions, John retaining his title. Lorna Simpson won both the Athlete of the Year Shield and the President’s Prize for not only her coaching achievements but her contribution to the ongoing development of the club.

AGM update

At a well attended Annual Meeting on Tuesday evening, Club President, Angus Gallie, reflected on a highly successful year in which membership had increased significantly, a record number of club members finished the Linlithgow 10k and the club’s coaching strength continued to expand.

Angus was re-elected President and Alison Marshall re-elected as Treasurer. Other officers elected included Alex Wood as Secretary, Neil Anderson as Membership Secretary and Martin Maginnis as Communications Officer.